6 Christmas classic movies to watch and watch again

I think this month of December is going to be focused on Christmas, unless it begins to rain without interruption during 3 weeks and I am not in the mood anymore 🙂

I keep listening to Christmas music and singing ” Jingle Bell ” at loud, so I think it’s time to watch or watch again some classic  Christmas movies .

So here are my favorite American Christmas movies.

1. Frosty the Snowman

frosty-the-snowman

This animated movie  from the 60s is one of first Christmas movie we showed to our daughters and in English. We had it at the time in VHS format which does not make me look younger 🙂

My husband made me discover this short 30 min movie  when we were  living in Montreal and I found it so adorable that we had to play it for the girls and they loved it. How can’t you ?

Frosty is a very cute snowman which becomes alive by magic and  becomes friend with a cute little girl. He just says “Happy Birthday” instead of “Merry Christmas” all the time. At some point he melt and we  almost cry (the little girl cries for sure) but he returns to  life still by magic, so everything goes well! If you did not watch it,  it’s time !

2. How the Grinch stole Christmas

how-the-grinch-stole-christmas-christmas-movies-17365845-1067-800

This children book from Dr Seuss is also an old one from the  50’s and was adapted in an animated movie and a movie with the actor Jim Carey. This great story about the Grinch who decides to steal the children presents from Christmas is funny and touching.
You can visit Dr Seuss’s world at the Islands of Adventure in Orlando and also see the sets of the movie when you visit  Universal Studios in California.

 

The book, the animated movie or the movie, at Christmas we love this green guy who is not, by the way, a Martian:-)

3. Mickey, Once upon a Christmas

mickeys-once-upon-a-christmas-di-01b Yes I do love animated movies because Christmas it’s first for the children and even at my “old” age I don’t get tired of watching a good Disney movie.

I have several Mickey movies CDs such as  Once upon a Christmas, The Magic of Christmas or The Christmas Calendar and Donald’s stories, Pluto, Mickey and his friends are timeless. My 14 years old daughter just  asked  me recently if we could watch the episode where Mickey’s  nephews go to the North Pole and try to put their name on the Santa Claus nice list . That  was a great surprise for me that she asks me to  watch this movie because 1- she remembered this movie and 2-  she wanted to watch a Mickey movie. Yippee! I can’t wait !

4. The Nightmare before Christmas

adidas-rose-3-nightmare-before-christmas-05What I do like about Tim Burton animated movie is that you can watch The Nightmare before Christmas either at Christmas or at Halloween.  Jack Skellington who decided to replace Christmas by Halloween is just awesome and the songs are unforgettable .  I think I watched this movie 40 times but I am not tired watching it gain and again!

5. Love Actually

love-actuallyAt least a movie for adults but particularly for the girls. Yes I am a girl and I love girly movies. But I also like Star Wars and Star Trek!

Love Actually is a cute movie about LOVE!!! It is about 10 love stories that take place around Christmas time. The stories are funny, sad and emotional. You will found in love with all the characters. The casting is impressive: : Hugh Grant, Liam Neeson, Keira Knightley, Emma Thompson,  Alan Rickman, Colin Firth and more.

A must see more than one time!

6. A Charlie Brown Christmas

a-charlie-brown-christmas-snoopy-38672259-1600-900And for the end I have to mention this animated movie because it is broadcasted every year on the American TV during Christmas time since 1965 I think ! I don’t really like  Charlie Brown even if I named my former dog Snoopy when I was a little girl but everybody should watch this movie at least one time in his life, it is a classic!

I did not mentioned Rudolph the red-nose reindeer just because in the Mickey movies there is a story about Pluto renamed Happy by Santa’s reindeers that I like more that Rudolph, sorry Rudolph.

So now that my playlist is ready, it is time to prepare a marshmallows hot chocolate, put a Rudolph the red-nose reindeer or Unicorn onesie ( yes it is real, my daughters got one) and watch our favorite movie.

And you? What is your favorite Christmas movie that you watch every year no matter what?

 

6 Comments

  1. Bonsoir,
    Je découvre ton blog avec cet article et ça me fait trop plaisir !
    Frosty the snowman et Mickey, Once upon a Christmas : les basiques ! 🙂 Vus et revus, chaque Noël, en pyjama, avec la fratrie (on a plus de 20 ans :)))
    Merci pour ces souvenirs !!

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!

6 films américains de Noël à voir ou revoir

Je pense que ce mois de décembre va être très concentré sur Noël et les fêtes de fin d’année, à moins qu’il se mette à pleuvoir sans interruption pendant 3 semaines et que ça me casse l’ambiance  🙂

Comme je n’arrête pas d’écouter des musiques de Noël et de chantonner  » Jingle Bell » à voix haute, je me suis dis qu’il était aussi temps de voir ou revoir des films de Noël incontournables en ce temps de l’année.

Voilà donc mes films de Noël américains préférés.

1. Frosty the Snowman

frosty-the-snowmanCe dessin animé des années 60 est un des premiers films de Noël que nous avons montré à nos filles, en anglais en plus. On l’avait à l’époque en VHS, ça ne nous rajeunit pas.

C’est mon mari qui m’a fait découvrir ce petit dessin animé de 30 min lorsque l’on habitait à Montréal et je l’ai trouvé tellement adorable  qu’il était impossible de ne pas le faire découvrir à nos filles.

A l’origine il s’agit d’une chanson écrite en 1950 et qui est devenue un dessin animé classique américain. Frosty est un bonhomme de neige qui devient vivant par magie et qui rencontre une petite fille qui devient son ami. A un moment donné il fond et on pleure presque, mais revient à la vie encore par magie, donc tout va bien!  Si vous ne l’avez pas vu il est temps d’y remédier.

2. How the Grinch stole Christmas

how-the-grinch-stole-christmas-christmas-movies-17365845-1067-800Ce livre pour enfant de Dr. Seuss qui date également des années 50 a été adapté en dessin animé puis en film avec Jim Carey. Cette super histoire du Grinch qui décide de voler les cadeaux des enfants à Noël est drôle et attendrissante.

On peut visiter le monde de Dr. Seuss à Islands of Adventure à Orlando et également voir les décors du films quand on visite les Studios Universal en Californie.

Que cela soit le livre, le dessin animé ou le film, à Noël on s’attendrit pour ce bonhomme vert qui entre parenthèse n’est pas un martien 🙂

3. Mickey, Once upon a Christmas

mickeys-once-upon-a-christmas-di-01bOui je suis très dessin animé mais Noël c’est d’abord pour les enfants et même à mon âge je ne me lasse pas d’un bon Disney.

Les CD de Mickey  j’en ai plusieurs que cela soit Once upon a ChristmasThe Magic of Christmas ou The Christmas Calendar et les histoires de Donald, Pluto, Mickey et ses amis sont indémodables. Ma fille de bientôt 14 ans m’a encore demandé récemment si on pouvait regarder l’épisode où les neveux de Mickey vont au Pôle Nord et essaient de mettre leur nom sur la liste des enfants gentils.  Ça m’a super surpris qu’elle me demande de revoir ce dessin animé mais j’étais super contente  1- qu’elle s’en souvienne et 2- qu’elle veuille encore voir des Mickey. Youpi ! Je ne demande que ça.

4. The Nightmare before Christmas

adidas-rose-3-nightmare-before-christmas-05Ce que j’aime de cette animation de Tim Burton que j’adore (Tim Burton et TNBC) c’est qu’on peut le regarder soit à Halloween soit à Noël . Jack Skellington qui décide de remplacer Noèl par Halloween, c’est juste génial et les chansons sont inoubliables.  J’ai dû le voir 40 fois mais je ne m’en lasse pas.

5. Love Actually

love-actuallyEnfin un film pour les plus grands mais surtout pour les filles. Et oui je suis une fille et donc j’aime les films romantiques-tiques. Mais j’aime aussi Star Wars et Star Trek!

Love Actually c’est une joli film sur l’AMOUR!!! Cela raconte 10 histoires d’amour qui se passent autour de Noël. Les histoires sont touchantes, drôles et tristes. Vous tomberez amoureux de tous ces personnages.  Le casting est très impressionnant: Hugh Grant, Liam Neeson, Keira Knightley, Emma Thompson, feu Alan Rickman, Colin Firth et j’en passe.

A voir et  à revoir plusieurs fois!

6. A Charlie Brown Christmas

a-charlie-brown-christmas-snoopy-38672259-1600-900Enfin je cite  ce dernier dessin animé parce que cela passe tous les ans à la télé américaine depuis certainement 1965! Je ne suis pas fan de Charlie Brown même si j’avais appelé mon chien Snoopy quand j’étais petite mais tout le monde doit le voir au moins une fois dans sa vie, c’est culte !

Je n’ai pas cité Rudolph le renne au nez rouge car dans les Mickey que j’ai cité plus haut, il y a une histoire de Pluto renommé Happy par les rennes du Père Noël qui est toute aussi bien que celle de Rudolph, désolée Rudolph!

Bon maintenant que ma playlist est prête il est temps de se préparer un bon chocolat chaud avec des mini chamallows, mettre son pyjama une pièce (« onesie » ici) de Rudolph au Nez Rouge ou de licorne arc en ciel (oui ça existe car mes filles les portent) et de s’installer devant la télé.

Et vous? Quels sont vos films de Noël que vous regardez chaque année religieusement ?

 

è

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

4 commentaires

  1. Bonsoir,
    Je découvre ton blog avec cet article et ça me fait trop plaisir !
    Frosty the snowman et Mickey, Once upon a Christmas : les basiques ! 🙂 Vus et revus, chaque Noël, en pyjama, avec la fratrie (on a plus de 20 ans :)))
    Merci pour ces souvenirs !!

Leave a Comment

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

error: Content is protected !!