Acadia National Park

Today we are ending our road trip in Maine (see the article here) with 3 days in Mount Desert Island and Acadia National Park.
Acadia National Park is the  most popular  national park in New England. It is located on an island, Mount Desert Island, north of Maine and at 5h30 hours drive from Providence, Rhode Island.

I wanted to go there for a while so we decided to stay 3 days to have time to see around. I found a cottage-motel ( meaning “camping ) near Bar Harbor, the biggest town on Mount Desert Island. On the road to Bar Harbor you can find a lot of those motels and cottages.

Acadia National Park is in the middle of the island and compared to the other national parks I went, you keep entering and exiting the park and you not even know it. It’s kind of weird because you never know if you are actually inside the park except when you have to go through the entrance gate and give your pass to the rangers. But you can drive and be inside the park without going through the gate. I don’t really get it but that’s a fact.

Usually when I go to a national park I go camping and hiking. This time I didn’t do this and I play the real tourist or almost the real one ( but less annoying 🙂 ) . When you have two teenage girls you don’t even try to convince them to walk and go hiking.

And in this park there is a way to see the best spots just by driving a loop road. Indeed the Park loop goes around the park and with a map you can stop at all the most amazing places you need to see.  So we drove the Park loop road. We first stopped at Sand beach (the most beautiful beach of the park) and we parked between the Thunder Hole and the beach because it was really impossible to find a place to park at the actual beach parking lot. We decided to walk to the Thunder Hole and stopped several times on the way to watch the landscape which is incredible and amazing.

At Thunder Hole, the water just smashed on the rocks and make a thunder sound. The first time we went it was at noon, the sea was really quiet  and it was low tide. Not a good time to listen to the thunder. So we went back at the end of the day and it was really impressive.

We also stopped at Otter  Point . We looked for the otters but we saw seals instead. The Otter Cove view is really nice.

Any place you stop in the  Park Loop road gives you amazing views so don’t hesitate to stop and take your time.

We ended the loop at the Mount Cadillac which is the higher point of the island. You have an amazing panorama of the entire island. At the summit there is 2 parking lots very crowded. Try the first one you may have more luck and it is very closed to the other one anyway.

We stayed a long time on Mount Cadillac walking on the pink granite and  taking pictures.  Apparently the MUST DO on Mount Cadillac is to watch the sunrise or the sunset . Our neighbors at the motel decided to go at 5 am in the morning and to arrive early enough to be able to park because it seems to be a huge concern. Guess what? We did not watch the sunrise. I don’t think I’ll be ever able to wake my daughters up at 4 am to watch the sunrise. But from the pictures I saw I think it worth it. 

The park loop road is 27 miles long, it doesn’t take too much time to drive.  But you only see one  part of the park, on the west part of the island there is not a lot of roads so you have to take trails. It must be more quiet and wild than around the loop.

The next day we went kayaking . We found a place to rent kayaks in Somesville and you can go kayaking on the Long Pond (National Park Canoe & Kayak rental – 40$ a kayak for 2 people for 3 hours) . The lake/pond is really big. We only stayed 2 hours and we stopped on an island in the middle of the lake to swim. We noticed that half of the lake is in the national park and the other half is not and it is built with really nice houses. It’s less wild than I though but still nice. We saw a loon and a baby loon.

acadia national park

acadia national parkWe then drove to Southwest Harbor, a really nice harbor and then Bass Harbor and its lighthouse and ended in the really small town of Bernard which has nice houses and a restaurant on the water at the end of the road  (Thruston’s lobster pound  – 9 Thruston Rd – Bernard) . If you want to see the lighthouse and take pictures you will need to take a trail at the left of the parking lot and go down the stairs and walk on the rocks to try to get a picture. But you’ll have the best view of the lighthouse.

The evening we went back to the Thunder Hole and I can say that the thunder is not a urban legend. There were a lot of people but it was easy to park, the sun light was low and it was beautiful.

Then we went to Seal Harbor and Northeast Harbor. At Northeast Harbor you can take the ferry to the Little and Great Cranberry islands. Southwest Harbor is much nicer than Northeast if you have to choose between the two of them.

All those small towns and harbors are really quiet except Bar Harbor. Indeed everybody is going to Bar Harbor even cruise boats so it is really crowed. But it is a really beautiful town with nice restaurants so don’t miss it.

We spent our last night in a restaurant which could fit perfectly in Disneyland. If there will be a lobster shack theme in Disney this restaurant would be perfect. There have a two stories patio to eat outside on the water . The menu is not complicated, seafood essentilally but the place is awesome  (Stewman’s lobster Pound).

The only thing I didn’t do and I wanted to do in Bar Harbor was to walk to Bar Island but you can only do it at low tide. Maybe next time!

So the only thing we did that is not something tourists would usually do is to go to a campfire in a campground. Indeed in all campgrounds inside national parks rangers organise campfires and talk about the park history or wildlife. It is really interesting. You can ask the program at the park entrance. We went to the  Blackwood Campground.

Acadia is a beautiful park, the landscape is amazing but it is small and not as wild as I though. Lots of towns are built around the park. I was also surprised to find restaurant with smoked meat . It is unusual in New England but it’s interesting. You can at something else than lobster rolls.

It is really far from Providence but no mosquitos for us this time! Yeah ! Next time I’ll go hiking because it is what you have to do in a national park, no?  🙂 .

Acadia National Park – park entrance price: 25$ for a car for 7 days – You can also buy an Annual pass for all the United States national parks for 80$.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!

Acadia National Park

Aujourd’hui je finis notre road trip dans le Maine dont j’ai parlé ici par les 3 jours que nous avons passé sur Mount Desert Island et dans le Acadia National Park.

Le parc Acadia est le parc national le plus populaire de Nouvelle Angleterre . Le parc se trouve sur une île, Mount Desert Island au nord du Maine et à 5h30 de voiture de Providence.

Je voulais y aller depuis un bon moment donc 3 jours je me suis dit que ça serait pas mal pour faire le tour. J’ai trouvé un cottage-motel (comprendre du camping amélioré) à côté de Bar Harbor la ville principale sur Mount Desert Island. Sur la route qui mène à Bar Harbor il y a d’ailleurs un nombre considérable de motels et cottages .

Le parc est en fait au milieu de l’île et ce que je ne savais pas c’est que contrairement à d’autres parcs nationaux que j’ai fait, tu passes ton temps à entrer et sortir du parc sans vraiment t’en rendre compte. C’est un peu bizarre, on ne sait jamais vraiment si on est dans le parc sauf quand on passe la « gate » des rangers et qu’on présente notre pass du parc. On peut traverser le parc sans jamais passer devant une entrée officielle.

D’habitude quand je vais dans un parc national je campe et je fais des rando. Là j’avoue que j’ai fait la touriste de base ou presque. Avec mes deux ado de filles j’ai même pas essayé de les convaincre de marcher. Ce qui est pratique dans ce parc c’est que tu peux  faire la touriste sans problème, c’est étudié pour  🙂 . En effet il y a une route qui s’appelle Park loop road qui te permet de voir tout ce qu’il y a de plus spectaculaire dans le parc, presque sans sortir de ta voiture, enfin quand même il faut sortir.

acadia national park acadia national parkDonc on a pris Park loop road . On s’est arrêté entre Sand beach (plage de sable blanc et certainement la plus belle plage du parc ) et Thunder Hole car impossible de se garer au parking de Sand beach. On a décidé de marcher jusqu’à Thunder Hole et non vers Sand beach en faisant des décrochés pour admirer la côte et de loin Sand Beach. La vue est vraiment spectaculaire .

Thunder Hole est un endroit où l’eau vient frapper sur les rochers en faisant un bruit de tonnerre (thunder) . Quand on y est allé la première fois en plein midi la mer était super calme et c’était marée basse. Oublies le « thunder » à ce moment. On a décidé alors qu’on y retournerait à marée haute en fin de journée.

acadia national parkOn s’est ensuite arrêté à Otter Point (la pointe de la loutre). On a cherché des loutres mais on a vu des phoques . La pointe permet de voir le Otter Cove, la vue est encore superbe.

acadia national park acadia national parkIl faut dire que Park Loop road donne des points de vue extraordinaires sur le parc peu importe l’endroit où on décide de s’arrêter. Ça serait donc dommage de ne pas le faire.

On a continué le loop jusqu’au Mont Cadillac qui culmine à un gros 466 m d’altitude 😛  et qui permet d’admirer toute l’île. Arriver au sommet en voiture il y a deux parking. Le parking tout au sommet est franchement blindé de monde mais celui juste en dessous permet de se garer et d’admirer un autre point de vue de l’île.

On est donc resté un moment à marcher sur le granite rose et à prendre des photos. Le truc super « in » à faire au Mont Cadillac il paraît est de venir admirer le lever ou le coucher du soleil . Nos voisins de motel avaient décidé d’y aller à 5h du matin et d’arriver assez tôt pour pouvoir se garer car cela a l’air d’être un méga problème. Nous évidemment on ne l’a pas fait; c’est pas demain que j’arriverai à réveiller ma fille à 4h du mat pour admirer le lever du soleil . Mais les photos que j’ai vu valent le spectacle.

Le loop fait 27 miles soit environ 43 km, c’est assez rapide. Par contre on ne fait qu’une partie du parc, il y a une autre partie du parc à l’ouest de l’île également qui n’a pas de loop mais des sentiers de randonnées et des lacs et qui à mon avis est bien moins populaire et donc plus calme.

Le lendemain on est parti faire du kayak dans la partie plus calme du parc où on pouvait trouver des kayaks à louer soit sur le Long Pond à côté de Somesville. (National Park Canoe & Kayak rental – 40$ le kayak 2 places pour 3 heures) Le lac est super grand, on n’a seulement fait 2h de kayak et seulement atteint une petite île au milieu du lac pour se baigner mais on s’est rendu compte que la moitié du lac est dans le parc et l’autre moitié non et donc développée. Il y a des tas de maisons sur le bord de l’eau du coup ça enlève le côté « parc sauvage ». On a quand même croisé un huard (« loon« ) avec son bébé que je ne mets pas en photo car je n’avais pas mon appareil et avec l’iphone c’est carrément raté.

acadia national park

acadia national park

On est allé ensuite jusqu’à Southwest Harbor qui est un superbe joli port puis Bass Harbor et son lighthouse pour finir à la petite bourgade de Bernard qui n’a que quelques maisons et un restaurant au bord de l’eau caché au bout de la rue (Thruston’s lobster pound  – 9 Thruston Rd – Bernard) . Pour  voir et photographier le phare on peut aller sur la droite au parking ou prendre un petit chemin sur la gauche , descendre un escalier et marcher sur les rochers pour tenter de prendre une photo du phare, qui a une vue beaucoup plus joli à mon avis.

acadia national park

acadia national parkLe soir nous avons décidé de retourner vers le Thunder Hole pour voir si effectivement c’était une légende urbaine ce tonnerre. Et bien à marée haute quand la mer est plus agitée, l’eau entre vraiment dans une petite caverne naturelle et ça mouille bien . Il y avait beaucoup plus de monde qu’en plein midi mais pas de problème de parking ,le soleil était beaucoup plus bas ce qui donnait une lumière beaucoup plus belle.

acadia national parkacadia national parkacadia national park

acadia national park acadia national parkPuis nous sommes allées à Seal Harbor (pas de phoques ) et Northeast Harbor. A Northeast Harbor il est possible de prendre le ferry pour aller sur les îles Cranberry (Little Cranberry et Great Cranberry) . Northeast Harbor n’a rien de bien extraordinaire, j’ai trouvé Southeast Harbor bien plus sympa.

Tous ces petits villages et ports sont très calmes exceptée la ville de Bar Harbor qui elle est prise d’assaut par les bateaux de croisières et les touristes. La ville est pourtant très belle et les restaurants super sympas.

Nous avons d’ailleurs passé notre dernière soirée dans un restaurant sur le port digne de Disney (sans le kitch) . S’il y avait un thème lobster shack à Disney ce restaurant serait en effet parfait: deux étages de terrasse sur l’eau jusqu’au ponton où on peut manger aussi, très simple pour la nourriture mais vraiment bien arrangé (Stewman’s lobster Pound).La seule chose que je voulais faire à Bar Harbor était de traverser à marée basse sur l’île Bar Island mais on n’a raté notre créneau. une autre fois.

Pour faire moins touriste on est quand même allé à une soirée rangers dans un camping du parc. En effet le soir dans les camping les rangers font des soirées où ils parlent de la faune, de la flore du parc ou encore racontent des anecdotes. Généralement ils font un feu de camp (pas cette fois pour nous) et on apprend des tas de choses sur le parc. Donc on est allé au Blackwood Campground un soir et on a écouté notre ranger nous parler des arbres et de la découverte et évolution du parc. Super intéressant . Le programme des rangers est disponible à l’entrée du parc, il suffit de le demander.

Acadia est vraiment un parc avec des paysages magnifiques, très petit et vraiment très développé autour. A l’entrée de l’île j’ai été  surprise par le nombre de restaurants qui proposaient des lobster rolls et du smoked meat également. C’est plutôt inhabituel dans ce coin des Etats-Unis.

Acadia c’est toutefois loin de Providence mais je suis contente d’avoir découvert ce parc et cette île. Pas de moustiques comme j’en avais entendu parlé. J’y retournerais bien faire de la rando la prochaine fois car c’est quand même tout l’intérêt d’aller dans un parc national 🙂 .

Acadia National Park – prix de l’entrée: 25$ pour un véhicule pour 7 jours – On peut également acheter le pass pour l’année pour tous les parcs nationaux des Etats-Unis pour 80$. 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

error: Content is protected !!