Cape Cod, the treasure of Massachusetts

It’s summer time and when you live in New England where are you going for the week end or a week? In Cape Cod, THE summer destination.

Cap Cod is a peninsula situated in the South of Boston, there are two bridges to go on Cape Cod, the Sagamore Bridge and the Bourne Bridge. You can drive there from Providence it is approximately one hour drive, or more classy, you can take the ferry from Boston to Provincetown which is the last town at the end of  Cape Cod. Cap Cod has a form of arm with an elbow where is my favorite town of the Cape, Chatham and the road ends at the magnificent town of Provincetown.

800px-Cape_Cod_-_Landsat_7There are beaches everywhere in the Cape which some are known to be the most beautiful beaches of the United States.

This destination is very popular and as there are only two bridges to go on the Cape and one road to go to Provincetown, the traffic can become rather dense ; it is  then necessary to plan in advance its arrival and departure.

Woods Hole – Sandwich

At the entrance of Cape  Cod there is the town of Woods Hole which is known for its numerous centers and institutions of marine researches but also for its ferry to the islands of Nantucket and Martha’s Vineyard (the summer destination of the American presidents).

13913627_540145756178330_6121121507970450359_o

There is also the cute and small town of Sandwich (yes there is a town named Sandwich) which has nice little shops and restaurants.

 
Chatham

But my favorite destination in Cape Cod it is the town of Chatham . I discovered this town 20 years ago thanks to my husband and we took the girls on holiday there before moving in the United States. Since then, we try to go there every year. The downtown has  shops and very fashionable restaurants. I found in love with the art gallery FOCUS which exposes photos of whales (we can’t change people :-)) of Bryant Austin which are absolutely amazing. I had to buy his book which is fantastic , if you like whales like I do. 

13925387_540150472844525_7478226605314082008_n You can find also other photographers from the Cape, this gallery is a Must go.

Chatham has gorgeous houses ont the water front, a breathtaking beach which is in the Monomoy National Wildlife where we can often (even all the time) observe seals if we have the courage to walk along the beach. 

13995633_540142962845276_2165180844915462418_o13906770_540150492844523_8386097258050303545_n

Be careful if you want to swim there, when there are seals in Cape Cod there are sharks and Chatham is well known for the white sharks!

For the story we were on the beach with our daughters after 5 pm and the lifeguards told us to not let them at the water’s edge because it was the dining time for the sharks  and they could confuse the girls with a seal. And recently a seal was snatched by a shark on that beach. We did not want to swim anymore

Chatham’s port is a nice place to see  fishermen returning with their cargo of fishes of all kinds and to say hello to the seals which come there to catch a fish or two. You can also taste  the best clam chowder in New England according to me 🙂

If we’re not afraid of sharks, there’s a lot of beaches on Cape Cod to swim or surf . Nausett beach is particularly impressive and appreciated by the surfers. In the evening there’s often campfires organized by rangers. It is really nice to listen to the stories they have to tell about Cape Cod. .

Provincetown – Dennis Port

 

You really have to visit Provincetown first of all because the road is magnificent, and also for the whales watching cruises in the Stellwagen Bank Sanctuary, an unforgettable experience. Provincetown has also incredible seaside and the town .  There are a lot of nice restaurants with terraces and  shops to get souvenirs. Don’t miss it.

Some other towns on the Cape are also very pleasant and some are  less.

We went to go fishing with the girls at Dennis Port. It was great. It was a special fishing cruise  for children, fishing rods were installed around the boat. Our daughter caught a fish and a  crew members prepared it on the boat. We dropped lobster cage on our way and caught spider crabs but no lobster:-). A very beautiful experience.

DSCN2563

It is impossible to be bored in Cape Cod. It is such a beautiful place and we are still discovering it .

So if you know some nice places in Cape Cod, please leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!

Cape Cod, la perle du Massachusetts

C’est l’été et en bon habitant de Nouvelle Angleterre, on  va passer un week end ou une semaine à Cape Cod, LA destination vacances.

Cape Cod est une péninsule située au sud de Boston. Il y a deux ponts pour aller sur Cape Cod, le Sagamore Bridge et le Bourne Bridge. On peut y aller en voiture, de Providence c’est environ une heure, ou plus classe, on peut prendre le ferry de Boston direction Provincetown au bout du bras de Cape Cod. Car oui Cape Cod a une forme de bras avec un coude où se trouve ma ville préférée du Cape, Chatham et où la route finit sur la magnifique ville de Provincetown.

800px-Cape_Cod_-_Landsat_7Il y a des plages sur tout le Cape dont certaines font parties des plus belles plages des Etats Unis.

Cette destination étant super populaire et compte tenu qu’il n’y a que deux ponts pour s’y rendre et une route pour aller jusqu’à Provincetown, le traffic peut devenir assez dense sur le Cape; il faut donc planifier à l’avance son arrivée et son départ.

Woods Hole – Sandwich

A l’entrée du Cape on trouve la ville de Woods Hole qui est connue pour ses nombreux centres et institutions de recherches marines mais aussi pour son ferry à destination des îles de Nantucket et Martha’s Vineyard (la destination vacances des présidents américains).

13913627_540145756178330_6121121507970450359_o

On trouve également la super mignonne et petite ville de Sandwich (oui oui ça existe) qui possède des boutiques et restaurants sympas.

 Chatham

Ma destination préférée sur Cape Cod c’est la ville de Chatham dans le « coude » du Cape. Je l’ai découverte il y a 20 ans grâce à mon mari et nous y avons emmené les filles en vacances avant de déménager aux Etat-Unis. Depuis, nous essayons d’y aller chaque année. Le centre ville possède des boutiques et restaurants très à la mode. J’ai particulièrement craqué pour la galerie d’art FOCUS qui expose des photos de baleines ( on se refait pas 🙂 ) de Bryant Austin qui sont absolument fantastiques. J’ai d’ailleurs acheté le livre qui est superbe.

13925387_540150472844525_7478226605314082008_n D’autres photographes du Cape exposent également, un arrêt à faire en allant à Chatham.

 

Chatham a de magnifiques et énormes maisons au bord de l’eau, une plage à couper le souflle qui est par ailleurs le berceau du refuge Monomoy National Wildlife où l’on peut souvent ( voire tout le temps ) observer des phoques si on a le courage de marcher le long de la plage.

13995633_540142962845276_2165180844915462418_o13906770_540150492844523_8386097258050303545_n

Attention pour la baignade, quand il y a des phoques, à Cape Cod ça veut dire qu’il y a des requins et Chatham est particulièrement reconnue pour ses grands requins blancs.

Pour la petite histoire nous étions avec nos filles sur la plage après 17 heures et elles marchaient au bord de l’eau quand un sauveteur est venu nous dire de ne pas les laisser au bord de l’eau car c’etait l’heure pendant laquelle les requins venaient manger et récemment un phoque avait été happé par un requin sur la plage… Ça nous a vite coupé l’envie d’aller faire trempette….

Le port de Chatham est un endroit privilegié pour voir les pêcheurs revenir avec leur cargaison de poissons en tout genre et de faire coucou aux phoques ( encore eux !) qui viennent essayer de piquer un poisson ou deux. Au port on peut aussi déguster selon moi la meilleure clam chowder de Nouvelle Angleterre.

Il y a de nombreuses plages où se baigner sur Cape Cod si on n’a pas peur des requins, certaines sont réputées pour leurs vagues. Celle de Nausett beach est particulièrement impressionnante et prisée des surfeurs. Le soir il y a souvent des feux de camps organisés par les rangers, c’est plutôt sympas d’écouter les histoires du Cape et des anecdoctes.

 Provincetown – Dennis Port

Evidemment il faut aller jusqu’à Provincetown quand on est sur le Cape tout d’abord car la route est splendide, plus on approche; plus la terre dimimue et se confond avec les dunes, ensuite pour ses départs de croisières pour aller observer les baleines, dans le sanctaire marin Stellwagen Bank, une experience inoubliable. Le bord de mer est incroyable et  la ville  est très animée et typique.  Il y a de nombreux restaurants sympas avec des terrasses sur la rue ou sur le bord de mer et plein de boutiques. Impossible d’éviter cette ville.

D’autres villes sur le Cape sont aussi très agréables et d’autres moins.

On est allé pêcher avec les filles à Dennis Port. C’était génial, il y avait une sortie spéciale enfants, des cannes à pêches étaient installées tout autour du bateau et on est parti pêcher des dorades. On est rentré avec une dorade que notre fille avait attrapée et que les membres d’équipages ont découpé en filet sur le bateau. On avait plongé des cages à homards au départ et en revenant on avait des crabes et des araignées de mer mais pas de homard 🙂 . Une très belle expèrience.

DSCN2563

—————

Bref, je ne me lasse pas de Cape Cod tellement c’est beau, nous n’avons pas encore tout exploré donc si vous avez des endroits à nous conseiller sur Cape Cod, je suis preneuse.

 

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Leave a Comment

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

error: Content is protected !!