You don’t mess with American Holidays: Halloween

That’s it! I am in the fall mood and as  it is almost Halloween, my favorite holiday, I decided to talk about American holidays and how we celebrate them here. In the American-style!  Everything in extreme  but I love it.

This is Halloween, this is Halloween
Pumpkins scream in the dead of night

(Nightmare before Christmas -This is Halloween – Marilyn Manson)

I will start with Halloween which is celebrated on October 31st. I love this holiday since I first came  in North America (in Quebec more exactly) more than 20 years ago! I feel really old 🙂

In the United States we start to be ready very early, first with the stores which have already put all their products for Halloween: candies, costumes, decorations, cakes and especially pumpkins! Everything is ready in August.

It is a little depressing when you are still wearing your shorts and flip flops and you have to think about fall season . But the good part is that everything is going to be on sale before Halloween !

——————————- Decorations ——————————

Concerning Halloween decorations, I really have to hold on to not buy all the awesome decoration . There is everything for everybody and for all the tastes. My favorite store to buy nice  decoration is definitively Home Goods (some people are more in love with Target,) or TJ Maxx. It is a real pleasure for my eyes.

In the Art and craft stores you also have a lot of choices with the “do it yourself”  decoration. Michaels has certainly the best choices but Hobby Lobby or AC Moore are good stores to go too. I also like Target but they started later than the others to install the decorations for Halloween because they had the back to school supplies before.

—————————— Costumes————————

For the costumes, there’s a really great store which opens only during fall season and has costumes for the whole family and especially creepy decorations : You have to go to  Spirit Halloween, if we want to be scared, it’s worth it . Otherwise you can find cute costumes for children at TJ Maxx. And if we have a dog we can buy him a costume too. I love the lobster one and I bought it for my dog, poor him !.

———————————- Candies—————————–

For candies or chips, you really have a very wide choice. There are absolutely everywhere. I think some of them are as much scary as the decoration at Spirit Halloween and I am not sure what they taste and I don’t want to know but if the goal is to be scary , I can assure you they are 🙂

The problem with all these candies it is that when the children come back from trick or treat  1) you are afraid by the quantity of candies they received and 2) you quickly throw away the ones that look a bit strange. At the end half of the candies goes to the trash can and the other half is never eaten by your children because if it was the case they would gain 20 pounds at each Halloween:-)

Halloween
And the bags are now useless, they use pillow cases now!

——————————– Pumpkin—————————–

When it is time to buy your pumpkin, you can go to the farms where you can find lots of different kind of pumpkins. I already talked about the farms in my posts about the corn maze and the apple picking. But you can also go to the church, that’s true! And in Barrington we have a really nice church with ten and ten of pumpkins, that’s a great place to go.

So when you have bought your pumpkin it is time to carve it. A great moment every year. We begin by emptying the pumpkin. We keep the flesh to bake a pumpkin pie (not too bad) and we keep the seeds to roast them in the oven. With some olive oil, some salt and some cumin or paprika, , the seeds are to die for.

————————————- Cakes ———————————

And if you like to bake cakes you have an incredible choice of Halloween cake or cupcakes decoration.

——————————– Trick or Treat ——————————

If you’re a kid or an adult,  Halloween is just an extraordinary and joyful holiday. Going trick or treating is magical like Christmas, but I would talk about it in a future post. The atmosphere is friendly, almost everybody decorates its house. The best decorations are obviously the ones which frighten the children:-). People are really nice and even those who are not home leave sometimes a basket filled with candies for the children. You can only see this in United States.

 And as soon as Halloween’s over you have to get ready for Thanksgiving, the next holiday.

Happy Halloween !

Halloween

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!

On ne plaisante pas avec les fêtes américaines: Halloween

Ça y est je suis dans l’ambiance automne et comme bientôt c’est l’Halloween, ma fête préférée, j’ai décidé de parler des fêtes américaines et comment on les célèbre ici. A l’américaine quoi, tout dans l’excès ou à fond mais j’adore.

This is Halloween, this is Halloween
Pumpkins scream in the dead of night

(Nightmare before Christmas -This is Halloween – Marlyn Manson)

Je commence par la Fête d’Halloween que l’on célèbre le 31 octobre, juste à la veille de la Toussaint. J’adore cette fête depuis que j’ai mis la première fois les pieds en Amérique du Nord ( au Québec plus exactement) il y a plus de 20 ans ! Ça ne nous rajeunit pas.

Ici on se met très très tôt dans l’ambiance par commencer par les magasins qui ont déjà installé tous leurs produits d’Halloween: bonbons, déguisements, décorations, gâteaux et surtout citrouilles! Tout est prêt à partir de la mi-août.

Ça met un peu le bourdon quand tu es encore avec tes shorts et tes tongues et que tu te dis qu’il faut penser à l’automne. L’avantage c’est que tout sera bientôt en solde donc avant la date dite d’Halloween 🙂

——————————- Décorations ——————————

Concernant les décorations d’Halloween, il faut vraiment que je me retienne pour ne pas acheter tout ce qu’il y a sur les étales tellement c’est génial. Il y a de tout pour tout le monde et pour  tous les goûts. Mon magasin préféré pour acheter de jolies déco c’est définitivement Home Goods (Certains sont amoureux de Target, moi c’est Home Goods) ou TJ Maxx. C’est un vrai régal pour mes yeux . Dans les magasins d’Art et craft on a aussi un sacré choix avec la possibilité de faire ses propres déco. Michaels est certainement le plus complet mais Hobby Lobby ou AC Moore valent la peine d’y faire un tour. J’aime aussi beaucoup Target mais ils sont moins rapides que les autres pour installer les décorations d’Halloween car ils ont eu la rentrée des classes juste avant.

—————————— Déguisements ————————

Côté déguisements, il y a un magasin génial qui n’ouvre que pendant l’automne et qui a des déguisements pour toute la famille et surtout des décorations qui elles sont dignes d’un film d’horreur. Il faut en effet aller chez Spirit Halloween, si on veut se faire peur, ça vaut la peine juste d’y mettre les pieds . Autrement il y a de trop mignons costumes pour enfants chez TJ Maxx. Et si on a un chien on peut le déguiser aussi. J’adore le costume de homard ou celui de Chewbacca.

———————————- Bonbons —————————–

Pour les bonbons ou chips, on n’a plus que l’embarras du choix. Il y en a absolument partout partout partout. Certains à mon avis font au moins aussi peur que les décorations de chez Spirit Halloween et je ne suis pas certaine de ce que cela goûte, ou je ne veux pas savoir mais en tout cas ça remplit bien son rôle de faire peur si c’est l’objectif 🙂

Le souci avec tous ces bonbons c’est que lorsque les enfants font le tour des maisons et reviennent , 1) tu prends peur en voyant la quantité de bonbons accumulés et  2) tu te dépêches de faire le tri dans tous ces trucs bizarres. Résultat des courses en général la moitié va à la poubelle et l’autre moitié n’est jamais mangée par tes enfants car si c’était le cas ils prendraient 10 kg à chaque Halloween 🙂

Halloween
Ah oui les sacs ne servent plus à rien on y va avec la taie d’oreiller maintenant !

——————————– Citrouille —————————–

Pour l’achat de citrouille, les fermes sont un super endroit pour aller les chercher. J’en ai déjà un peu parlé quand j’ai parlé des labyrinthes de mais et des ramassages de pommes mais on peut aussi aller à l’église, et oui! Et à Barrington on a une église qui chaque année fait venir des dizaines de dizaines de citrouilles. Juste à regarder, ça vaut la peine.

On achète sa citrouille et ensuite on la sculpte. Une grande partie de plaisir chaque année en commençant par le vidage de la citrouille. On récupère de la chair au passage pour faire une tarte à la citrouille (c’est pas mauvais du tout) et on récupère surtout les graines pour les faire griller au four. Avec un peu d’huile d’olive, du sel et du cumin ou paprika, en général, les graines sont dévorées dans la soirée.

Et si vous voulez voir des professionnels du « carving » de citrouilles, allez au Jack O Lantern Spectacular au zoo de Providence ( pour plus d’info lire mon article sur le sujet ici) .

————————————- Gâteaux ———————————

Et si on aime faire des gâteaux, on a un choix absolument génial de décoration de gâteaux d’Halloween ou de cupcakes.

——————————– Trick or Treat ——————————

Que l’on soit petit ou grand l’Halloween c’est juste une fête extraordinaire et finalement plus joyeuse qu’on pourrait le penser . Faire le tour des maisons le soir de l’Halloween c’est magique, Comme à Noël, mais j’en parlerais dans un prochain article. L’ambiance est bonne enfant, tout le monde ou presque décore sa maison. Les meilleures décorations sont évidemment celles qui font peur aux enfants :-). Les gens sont super gentils et même ceux qui ne sont pas là laissent parfois un chaudron rempli de bonbons pour que les enfants se servent. Y’a vraiment qu’en Amérique que tu vois des trucs pareils.

Et à peine Halloween fini qu’il faut se préparer pour Thanksgiving , prochaine fête.

—————–

Bon sur ce  Happy Halloween à tous!

Halloween

 

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

2 commentaires

Leave a Comment

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

error: Content is protected !!